Search form

Bill Cosby: The Mark Twain Prize

The Mark Twain Prize salutes comedian Bill Cosby.  The program airs, Wednesday, November 4 at 8 p.m. ET on PBS stations nationwide.  Taped at The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts on October 26, the 90-minute special features tributes and comic testimonials from a star-studded cast of Cosby’s friends and colleagues including leading American entertainers Len Chandler, James De Priest, Dick Gregory, Jimmy Heath, Wynton Marsalis, Rita Moreno, Willie Nelson, Phylicia Rashad, Carl Reiner, Chris Rock, Bill Russell, Jerry Seinfeld, Sinbad, Malcolm-Jamal Warner and Steven Wright. The program, which recognizes the life and achievements of the beloved comedian, includes an assortment of classic film clips from Cosby’s career.

Press releases


Twain Prize Cosby 1

Bill Cosby, the recipient of The Mark Twain Prize.

Credit: Erinn Chalene Cosby

Bill Cosby The Mark Twain Prize Recipient 2

Dr. Bill Cosby is the recipient of the 2009 Mark Twain Prize.

Credit: Erinn Chalene Cosby

Welcome back!

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Press Contacts

Cecily Van Praagh